National Democracy Challenge Winners Announced

GATINEAU, Wednesday, March 26, 2014 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, today announced the winners of the National Democracy Challenge 2013.

"We asked youth to show us examples of democracy in action and they responded with many creative and inspiring entries," said Mr. Mayrand. "I congratulate this year's winners – and all of the participants – for their great work."

This year's winners are:

Video Category

  • 1st place – Adelaide Burrows, age 15, of Windsor, Ontario has won a four-day trip for two to Niagara Falls to attend the Federation of Canadian Municipalities' 2014 Annual Conference.
  • 2nd place – Milan Elliott, age 16, of North Vancouver, British Columbia has won an iPad and Smart Cover.
  • 3rd place – Angelica Poversky, age 15, of Richmond, British Columbia has won a $200 Best Buy gift card.

Image Category

  • 1st place – Erik MacLennan, age 17, of North Vancouver, British Columbia has won an iPhone.
  • 2nd place (tie) – Shauna Lynch, age 23, of Chesterville, Ontario and Carter Smith, age 14, of Grande Prairie, Alberta have each won a GoPro Hero3 camera.
  • 3rd place – Ivan Sadovsky, age 14, of Surrey, British Columbia has won a $200 Best Buy gift card.

Writing Category

  • 1st place – Meagan Campbell, age 18, of Halifax, Nova Scotia has won an 11" MacBook Air laptop.
  • 2nd place (tie) – Ikram Mecheri, age 20, of Montréal, Quebec and Margaret Lin, age 17, of Richmond, British Columbia have each won a Kobo Arc and a $100 Chapters gift card.
  • 3rd place – Mitchell MacEachern, age 26, of Mississauga, Ontario has won a $200 Best Buy gift card.

This year's winning entries were selected by a panel of judges: the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Rick Mercer, Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi and George Stroumboulopoulos.

The National Democracy Challenge is a hands-on learning activity launched every year as part of Canada's Democracy Week, an Elections Canada civic education initiative.

Canada's Democracy Week 2014 will take place from September 15 to 21.

Visit to see all the winning entries and for full contest details.


Elections Canada Media Relations
or at

Link to Elections Canada